Warning: Contents May Be Hot

“Faking It” And The Things They’re Doing Right

MTV’s “Faking it” got a lot much heat when the show was first pitched, and I can understand why. Even I was a little bit skeptical at first, because in my mind and in many others, creating a fictional liberal school in Texas where two girls fake being lesbians in order to be popular seems like it’s trivializing a really serious subject that people struggle with all over the world. However, while it’s not exactly perfect, and it doesn’t reflect reality when it comes to American schools, I’d like to take a moment to discuss all the topics it does right.

For a show set at a fictional school, there are a lot of real things happening. The first example being the tokenization of gay people I’ve been seeing more and more. When Amy and Karma proclaim they’re dating, they’re splash them all over the school’s social media accounts. They practically become the face of the school simply because they’re a lesbian couple. It’s like how reality TV shows will cast that one gay character for the sake of diversity, but that one will gay character will then watch all the straight people hook up and just sort of… sit there having served their purpose simply by existing. Or how about Liam’s crush on Karma literally only starting because she’s a lesbian? Something I’ve encountered far too many times.

Another topic that really hit a sore spot for me was that, while all the young people at their school accept and embrace their gayness, Amy’s own mother didn’t. That especially sucks because, of the two girls, Amy’s the one who begins to question her sexual orientation after kissing Karma. Her mother would rather she have a S&M dungeon in the garage than love a woman.

This season, “Faking It” has even done something unheard of on TV: they included an intersex character. This is TV’s first intersex character, and it was MTV that did it. What’s great about it is that they didn’t go into it blind. Inter/Act even tweeted about the actress playing an intersex character before it was actually revealed on the show in order to ease worries that intersex people were going to be misrepresented. Before playing the character, she spent a lot of time with someone born intersex in order to learn about being intersex, which while frankly is not as good as having cast someone who is actually intersex, is a step up from the usual. If you want to know more about what intersex means, this is a great article.

So basically, even in a more accepting world, there are still challenges to be faced and I like that this show isn’t blind to that. Plus, it’s fun to watch.

2 Responses to ““Faking It” And The Things They’re Doing Right”

  1. disconcerted72

    Although I’ve never watched the show, the idea behind “Faking it” doesn’t seem nefarious to me. I know as a bisexual, I have been “faking it” in a straight way for many, many years. And the reality, I think is that sometimes there is a need to “fake” things. Granted, this show takes a novel approach in how to handle the matter, but I think it seems less practical nowadays – I believe many more schools have a more modern approach to alernative sexualities and the idea behind the show seems somewhat moot. I do think that there are still plenty of people in life that won’t be accepting, but you can’t force people to like others, no matter how trivial others try to make an issue. But that doesn’t mean we need to stop pushing for people to be accepting of others…

    Just my 2 cents worth 🙂

    Reply
  2. disconcerted72

    Reblogged this on Recklessly Discreet and commented:
    I enjoyed reading this posting. Granted, it isn’t directly related to my life or how I have dealt with my sexuality, but it has some familiarity to me. I’ve spent a great deal of my life “Faking it”; and although I think sometimes “Faking it” is done for the sole purpose of serving one’s own agenda, sometimes it is done because a person doesn’t fully understand how he/she might fit in the world around them. Sometimes life is about conforming for many reasons, and often those reasons are for the purpose of serving others. Conformance, in essence, isn’t always evil, but it certainly removes individuality.

    So, “Faking it” has it’s place at times…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

