Warning: Contents May Be Hot

Are Open Relationships the New “In Thing”?

I have zero experience with open relationships, but lately, I’ve watched many of my friends get into them. I guess open relationships are the sort of things that come with a more sexually liberated society, which I’m totally all for, but this is one sexually progressive bandwagon I haven’t jumped on as of yet.

I mean in theory it’s a great idea. It takes off a lot of the pressure commitment brings and in a way, it’s a way of having everything: embracing the sort of current sexually liberated movement while still having the safety and excitement of a set romantic partner you can marathon Orange is the New Black with on Netflix at 2 AM in bed.

On the other hand, it comes with ten times more insecurity than strictly monogamous relationships do. I couldn’t tell you if jealousy is human biology or social conditioning, but man, have I watched my friends flip out when they’ve seen their significant other on the prowl even while having the open relationship agreement.

Maybe the whole watching someone you like flirt with others is something that has to be perfected with experience, I’m not quite sure. All I know is, I don’t know about the rest of you, but catching my significant in that position gives me a sour taste in my mouth I could usually only qualm by drinking many many drinks, which then just leads to more problems.

Am I just more of a jealous person than most people? Maybe? But I guess I shouldn’t knock it ‘til I try it, right? So I’ll get back to you guys when (if) I do. In the meantime, if anybody is willing to share, I’d really like to hear your positive or negative experiences with open relationships!

Source: julietisthesun.com via redvelvetcake on Sex.com

2 Responses to “Are Open Relationships the New “In Thing”?”

  1. rly1987

    Maitreya Ishwara argues that having open relationships and multiple partners is actually natural and healthy.

    Reply
  2. Cava Supernova

    Good post. I blogged the rollercoaster hell of my open relationship for Girl On The Net. I’d still do it again though – only this time with someone who didn’t have a drink problem and a personality disorder… http://bit.ly/1joO5rx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

