Warning: Contents May Be Hot

Sexy Selfies: Why do We Take Them?

With the advent of image-centric social media like Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest, the selfie culture is at an all-time high.  I probably don’t need to explain what a ‘selfie’ is because the word, and the concept has been ingrained in our society for quite some time now.  Celebrities post a selfie of themselves in a bikini or in their bedroom and the world explodes.  It has become totally accepted (by many people) to post glamorous or sexy pictures of ourselves on the internet.  But why do we do it?  Is it an ego-boosting thing?  Is it simply self-documentation?

Hell, I’m even guilty of taking them.

So let me start by explaining why I take selfies of myself and post them on the internet.  It’s actually quite a difficult idea to elaborate upon.

We live in a world where nearly as much weight is put upon one’s online persona as their real life self.  The difference between online and real-life is that online is very easy to manipulate and take control of. I might run into someone on the street looking like a total garbage fire, or I might be in a horrible mood after a long day at work, or I may have drank a bit too much with dinner and be a little sloppy.

But my online persona doesn’t run into those same pitfalls.

I can make myself look cute, or look happy, or look sexy, and I can determine who sees the picture.  Basically, I have total control over what side of me gets conveyed on the internet.  And that’s the appeal of selfies for me: being able to present yourself to people you know/strangers on your own terms.

Source: besthotgirlspics.com via BestHotGirlsPics on Sex.com

In the right context, it can also be pretty sexy to receive/send out a nude selfie.  I’m not talking like, every day, all the time, but I feel like it can definitely be a nice treat to send or receive one and can be quite a turn-on.

In a recent interview with Imogen Fox from the Guardian, Karl Lagerfield, internationally esteemed fashion guru, had a small soundbyte to contribute about our pervasive selfie culture:

“They are this horrible thing where you are distorted. The chin is too big, the head is too small. No, this is electronic masturbation.”

The idea of electronic masturbation is interesting and actually quite applicable.  I think it makes total sense, even though I’m not quite as cynical as Karl.  It can be extremely pleasurable and rewarding to snap a particularly good or hot selfie, post it on the internet, and get flattered by all of your internet peers and friends.  Some people obviously over-do it and spam the internet with hundreds of pictures of their butts, but that’s not me.

Source: Uploaded by user via JJ 8brams on Sex.com

I think in the right context, and given a certain level of restraint, there is definitely a place in all of our lives for some tasteful, and even dirty, selfies.  It’s the age we live in, and there’s no point in fighting it!

via Sex.com

5 Responses to “Sexy Selfies: Why do We Take Them?”

  1. disconcerted72

    Ya know, the last time someone asked for a picture of me, I lived to regret it…
    …and the mop handle I used did not help me.

    On a serious note, I totally get the need to show people who you are…in this age of instant information, it is the way we decide if the person we’re talking to online is the psychotic, murdering butt-rapist we’ve heard stories about so we want to make a judgement to avoid our own butss from getting raped and murdered…so, in some way we think that is we look at someone we can make that assessment. But on the other hand, the obvious is true, as well: You can’t believe everything you see on the internet.

    I, on the other hand, am “old”; so I can remember the time when digital photos and video was a science fiction concept that we saw on re-runs of Star Trek, and in some way feel like we have escaped the idea of giving people a chance to know who they are because of their presence in their lives. There was a time, when running into someone at a store or going out to a bar to meet someone made perfect sense, and in some way it was fun. But now, it’s almost like we avoid any potential for disappoinment by simply seeing them before ever meeting them.

    But, in the grand scheme of life, as we know it, you are absolutely right – it is the way we live our lives now, so selfie-away!

    Reply
    • theundiedrawer

      Wow! That photo sounds very racy! Also glad you’re a star trek fan, so am I! I agree with you, except I still think there’s something to be said for meeting people for the first time at a bar or somewhere like that!

      Reply
      • disconcerted72

        That picture is very unbecoming…take my word for it.

  2. Marty

    I must say the world has change dramatically since the invention of the “selfie”. While I do it rarely, I must admit I love receiving them. Love … love … love. So let the world of the selfie live forever I say

    Reply
    • theundiedrawer

      Yea its pretty fun to receive them, right? They don’t even have to be sexy! I like receiving pictures of people just smiling or doing something goofy :p

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

