Warning: Contents May Be Hot

Pubic Hair: Does it Stay or Does it Go?

I used to be the type of person who kept things smooth and shaven down there, but a sexual encounter several years ago got me to reconsider my self-maintenance habits.  I had always assumed that a clean-shaven pubic region was what was expected and desired of me, until I entered a sexual relationship with my ex-boyfriend, and he simply asked me “Why?”

I was taken aback by that question, because I had never considered my reasoning for shaving – I guess I just assumed that it was the way things were done, and didn’t think too much about it.  Since that time, I’ve stopped shaving my pubic region.  I certainly maintain and groom it so things don’t get too unruly, but, the clean-shave is a practice of the past.

Also, there’s no chance in hell I will ever put myself through the hellish experience of a Brazilian wax!

Of course, there are a variety of reasons to support either a clean-shaven or ‘au naturelle’ pubic region, and most of it comes down to personal preference.  My main point is that men shouldn’t expect a clean-shaven region, nor should women feel obligated to do so.

I simply find it more comfortable not to have to stress about things being totally smooth down there, not having to worry about razor burn or nicking myself with a razor, and just not having that obligation.  Others might find being clean-shaven more aesthetically pleasing, more hygienic, and might like the idea of not worrying what bathing suits/underwear they wear.

So, basically, you decide which one you like better. As long as you aren’t letting cultural obligation/expectations drive your decision, you should be free to do whatever you want down there!

Source: theundiedrawer.wordpress.com via GilPowers on Sex.com

And, FYI, I’ve met plenty of men who have told me that they like things to be a little hairy down there better than if its all smoothly clean-shaven!

Also, there seems to be a growing fad of pubic hair becoming fashionably trendy again! Power to the pubic hair!

How about you?  Do you shave, trim, or keep things wild and free?

4 Responses to “Pubic Hair: Does it Stay or Does it Go?”

  1. naivenancyblogs

    i’m hair free. but i also used to be a ballet dancer, so not having to worry about stray hairs coming out of my leotards used to be my primary focus. then i just got used to it and it’s normal to me. having hair would make me feel dirty now. i had laser done several years ago, so while it’s not 100% gone, i don’t have to put a whole lot of effort into it anymore.

    Reply
      • naivenancyblogs

        haha. everything is relative. it depends on your practitioner, but i’d say it’s not any worse than a wax. and obviously the end results are more permanent. it’s not really difficult.

  2. Alaa A.

    I know this post might be a little inclined towards female pubic hair trends but I think it goes the same way for men. For different cultural, societal and other factors, there are also “expected” stereotypes. For example, a man is typically expected to have some hair in the nether region and would normally be considered a little bit weird if totally hairless.
    Personally, I believe in the “do whatever makes YOU prefer” because different people have different preferences.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

