Warning: Contents May Be Hot

Chinese Trend: Renting Boyfriends!

In a lot of ways, Chinese culture is vastly different from my North American life, and I don’t claim to understand its many intricacies.  One similarity, however, is the social pressure around settling down into a relationship as you reach your late 20s.

Though it’s complete bullshit, many people face mounting expectations from their friends and families to find the perfect partner, settle down and start pumping out babies before the age of 30.  These expectations are certainly unrealistic for many people, and fortunately, in North America anyways, less frequent than they used to be.

North America is not China though. In China, if you’re a woman who is nearing 30 and has not settled down with a life partner (and gotten married), you are labelled as a “leftover woman” and you can expect a really unpleasant conversation with your parents as they try to figure out what the hell is wrong with you and where they went wrong.  So yes, marriage culture is still raging away in China.

Sounds like a real joy, doesn’t it?

Have no fear though, young, modern, independent Chinese women!  You can now ‘rent a boyfriend’ to bring home with you and parade around in front of your overbearing parents and grandparents.

Yes, correct, there is a new pseudo-prostitution trend (though apparently sex is strictly forbidden) that has surfaced in China as a response to the pressure of marital obligation.  If you pay for his trip, and then pay an additional fee, you can hire a young Chinese man to loyally follow you around your home-town and pretend to be your fiancee/boyfriend/whatever.  Extra fees exist for such tedious deeds as going to see a movie with you or holding your hand.

I guess you could also conceivably use this service if you’re expecting to have a particularly lonely Valentine’s day.

Source: theundiedrawer.wordpress.com via GilPowers on Sex.com

As a side note, I would just like to mention how glad I am to never have been raised in a culture where expectations of marriage are the norm, and are enforced.  I will likely never get married, just because I don’t see the point really, but to have a concept that I don’t believe in imposed on my romantic life, and determining my future, sounds completely terrible.  So thanks Mom and Dad!

Do you have social/family expectations to get married and settle down by a certain age?  Would you consider duping your family by paying to bring along a phoney boyfriend?  Do you think it counts as a form of prostitution?

For more information on this story, check out this CBC article.

6 Responses to “Chinese Trend: Renting Boyfriends!”

  1. Christopher Snell

    I was pressured into marriage by my family, it lasted 5 years. I found that in following my own path and not fighting with my family over it, I had to create courage in stepping nearly completely out of the family system. I email once in a while just to say I’m still alive and happy. Short and sweet, no details of my personal life which keeps it clean.
    It’s so rewarding in following the truth of your own inner convictions.
    My blessings to you…

    Reply
  2. lesfemmesvoice

    I was talking to a couple Chinese girls who are in my grad program the other day, and apparently they have age restrictions on marriage in China that are higher than in the US. The interesting thing is that the age when people can get married is different for women and men: women can get married at 20 and men at 22. Apparently this is part of their effort to keep the population down. I tried asking why the age limit should be lower for women than men, and they responded that it is because men want to marry younger women and because once women reach a certain age they are less able to have children. It’s pretty sad to actually see the pressure for women to get married earlier actually instituted into their national laws.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

