Warning: Contents May Be Hot

Breaking Down the 2014 Grammy Awards

THE $*@#$*@#! GRAMMY AWARDS SHOW!!! YEAAA GIRLLLL

Y’all like awards shows?

I absolutely LOVE awards shows.  From the runway fashions, to the interviews, to the performances, and most importantly seeing who’s going to get robbed of the award they deserve to win by some young upstart nobody over the age of 21 has ever heard of.  Do I sound old and bitter?  Sorry.

While you’re sitting inside your frigid apartment, freezing your butt off, wrapped in ten blankets and cursing the world, just remember that awards season is fast approaching.  I’m more of an Oscars person myself, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers, and the Grammy’s are right around the corner!

So without further delay, let’s preview some of the major categories and their corresponding nominations:

Record of the Year
“Get Lucky,” Daft Punk
“Radioactive,” Imagine Dragons
“Royals,” Lorde
“Locked Out Of Heaven,” Bruno Mars
“Blurred Lines,” Robin Thicke

Ugh….I heard that “Get Lucky” song WAYYYYYY too much this past summer.  Couldn’t walk down the street without hearing it blasting out of an open car window or storefront. Having said that, its probably the most ‘iconic’ song of 2013.  In terms of personal preference I would probably pick “Royals” by Lorde though.  Song is poppin off!

Song of the Year
“Just Give Me A Reason,” Pink
“Locked Out Of Heaven,” Bruno Mars
“Roar,” Katy Perry
“Royals,” Lorde
“Same Love,” Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Question: how the heck is this any different than record of the year?  No seriously, I have no idea what the difference is.  I like this category much better though, mostly because it includes “Roar” by Katy Perry.  As my friend says – “Roar makes me feel like a strong, independent women!” My friend is a man.

Best New Artist
James Blake
Kendrick Lamar
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Kacey Musgraves
Ed Sheeran

GOTTA go for my dude Kendrick Lamar here.  I don’t normally listen to gritty hip-hop like what he’s delivering, but his album had such an amazing mix of romance, poetry, and your classic gangster rap.  Highly recommended stuff.

Source: Uploaded by user via GilPowers on Sex.com

Best Pop Solo Performance

“Brave,” Sara Bareilles
“Royals,” Lorde
“When I Was Your Man,” Bruno Mars
“Roar,” Katy Perry
“Mirrors,” Justin Timberlake

Well…this is actually a really tough one.  I don’t know who Sara Bareilles is so I can’t vote for her.  I’m going to go for the underdog here, and probably my favourite song out of the bunch, “Royals,” by Lorde!

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance 
“Get Lucky,” Daft Punk & Pharrell
“Just Give Me A Reason,” Pink
“Stay,” Rihanna
“Blurred Lines,” Robin Thicke
“Suit & Tie,”Justin Timberlake & Jay Z

Oooooooh…first appearance by RiRi.  Well you KNOW I always gotta vote for Rihanna no matter what the question is. It could be the best punk album from the 1970s album and I would still vote for Rihanna without even looking at any of the possible answers.

Well, these were just a few small comments about some of the bigger and more famous awards available to be won.  The real reason to watch the Grammy Awards Show is to see what kind of crazy collaboration performances they’ve cooked up, what kind of crazy dress Lady Gaga is going to wear, and what kind of surprises are in store.  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

