Warning: Contents May Be Hot

Open Letter to My Ex-Boyfriend

ex boyfriend Tattoo

I write open-letters all the time to communicate how I feel. If you feel like getting your letter published, please send it our way and we will publish the best ones. Here is my take on writing one to one of my ex-boyfriends. Enjoy!

Dear Ex-Boyfriend,

It took me 542 days to get over the idea of you, that’s 1 year 5 months and 24 days. You left me the day of my birthday, how could I forget? You probably thought it would be a good idea to do it then, you knew how I loved my birthday and nothing could over shadow it; you were wrong. I now hate my Birthday because it represents the first day of the long process: healing a broken heart.

I stopped thinking about you every day a long time ago, probably when I met the first loser that could possibly take your spot in my life. Yes, it’s true, he gave me a better time between the sheets, but I was so wrong, you can’t just replace someone with someone else in the blink of an eye. You need a clean slate, with no preconceived idea of what that new person could be. Once I realized that no one could replace you, not that loser and certainly not the full line up afterwards; I fell back into a new healing phase.

That new phase made me reflect on all the things I did wrong, no anger was involved, just auto-analysis of things I did to make you hate me so much. I am now aware of these horrible things; I will do my best to not repeat these same mistakes with my future boyfriends.

I was over you as a person a long time ago actually, I didn’t want to see you, I strategically avoided places I could bump into you with your new girlfriend, I didn’t ask for your news from our common friends, I deleted your Facebook, I changed phones, I gave away the stuff you left at my house and met new people that didn’t have anything in common with you.

The idea of you has nothing to do you with you – it has to do with a presence in my life that made me laugh, cry and reassure me that everything would be OK in this world. We both knew when we met each other that we could never get married, we had an expiration date. We expired that day. I’m now ok with that, I see the bigger picture, relationships are a game of trial and error. That’s all it is.

The only things I have left from you are great memories of these two years and a better knowledge of myself.

Thank you,

Lily Penelope

Sex and the city Break up

Aidan, the forever ex boyfriend of Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City

tumblr_lwescyB2oF1qcp9gro1_500

tumblr_lwesc6RIDu1qcp9gro1_500

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

